• Sat. Dec 3rd, 2022


The point of Reports

2023: ‘Buhari Appointed As APC Presidential Campaign Council Chairman (Full List)’


Aug 19, 2022

Reacting to agitations over the Muslim-Muslim ticket floated by his party, he said the APC ticket was not designed to protect the interests of one faith as there were religious leaders to do that. “In Borno, we spent over N1bn naira rebuilding churches destroyed by the Boko Haram insurgency. And this legacy has been continued by Governor Babagana Zulum. We have taken more Christian pilgrims to Jerusalem than some of the Northern states headed by Christians. “So, we have that history of inclusivity, of togetherness. What we need is competent leadership. We are not coming into government to represent the Muslim or the Christian faith. The Sultan of Sokoto is eminently qualified to protect Muslim interests and the CAN president is eminently qualified to defend Christian interests as well,” he said.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has appointed President Muhammadu Buhari as the Chairman of the party’s Presidential Campaign Council.

Naija News learnt that the decision was reached during the meeting between the presidential candidate of the party, Bola Tinubu and APC Governors.

Political campaigns are expected to kick-off in September ahead of the 2023 elections.

The organogram of the campaign structure sighted by ThisDay showed that the Governor of Plateau State Governor, Simon Lalong remains the Director-General of the Presidential Campaign.

Lalong, however, would be reporting to President Buhari who has been given the power to take the final decision on operations and funding of the campaign.

Tinubu would deputize President Buhari in the council, while the National Chairman of the party, Abdullahi Adamu would be the Deputy Chairman (2).

The Chairman of Progressive Governors Forum and Governor of Kebbi State, Atiku Bagudu and former Minister of Niger Delta, Godswill Akpabio were appointed as Vice Chairmen.

Others appointed as Vice Chairmen are: APC Vice Presidential Candidate, Kashim Shettima and the only female presidential aspirant in the party, Uju Kennedy.

A former National Chairman of the party, Adams Oshiomole was appointed as the Deputy Director-General, Operations.

Hadiza Bala Usman was appointed Deputy Director-General, Admin, James Faleke (Secretary), while Christopher Takar was appointed Deputy Secretary.

The Governor of Jigawa State, Badaru Abubakar was appointed Regional Coordinating Chairman (North), while the Ebonyi State Governor, David Umahi would coordinate the South.

The Governor of Niger State, Abubakar Bello would serve as coordinator for North Central, Gombe State governor, Inuwa Yahaya (North-East); the Governor of Zamfara, Bello Matawale (North-west); Governor of Cross River State, Ben Ayade (South-South); and Imo Governor, Hope Uzodinma, South-East.

This article was originally published on Naija News